IPL 8 : Most Awaiting T20 Tournament of 2015

IPL 2015: The massive cricket bonanza has arrived

The juggernaut of IPL rolls on in the 8th edition with guaranteed\viewership notwithstanding the fact that the world cup would be ending when the tournament is launched on 8th April. With a high brand value the T20 competition has broken all records and created curiosity among the audiences. With the top players converging in India, people would be more than eager to witness the wickets tumbling in heaps. Cricket is never considered to be an overkill as IPL has demonstrated in recent past. People have thronged into stadium to have fun, entertainment and witness the players show their skills.

IPL: the checkered history

Colorful IPL is followed closely by the people including cricket experts around the globe. After the mega lunch in 2008, the IPL has become bigger and better with the proliferation of the stadiums around the country and increasing viewership. In the IPL 2014, 8 teams participated and Kolkata team snatched the title from the previous winners the Mumbai Indians. Final match was a keen tussle between the champions and the Punjab team in which the latter came out victorious. The final at the Bangalore stadium was memorable and riveted people to their seats.

As the IPL baby was born, DLF, the real estate behemoth in India because the main sponsor of the tournament with a huge funding of 50 million dollars.  As the T20 format captured the imagination of the people, stakes shot up with Pepsi jumping in the fray and outbidding DLF to become the primary sponsor of the team.

As far as the broadcasting right are concerned, they have been acquired by the Sony entertainment television at a mind boggling sum of about 1 billion dollars. Although it appears a lot, the offer seems reasonable due to the humungous interest of the audiences in 2015.

IPL has never been short of controversies as well what with Lalit modi being fired after managing the tournament as a CEO for 3 years. Not only that but in the first edition, brawl between harbhajan Singh and Sreesanth created lot of bad blood and invited criticisms in media.


BCCI keeps a tight control over the functioning of the IPL and has developed a strategy on how the players would be selected by the franchisee.  8 teams form important components of the tournament and they choose cricketers by bidding for them in the auction organized under the supervision of the board. All the contracts are on yearly basis with periodical reviews. Each player has a base salary depending on his performance and value, however the bidding price can shoot up depending on the preferences of the franchisee owners. 

Simplification of rules:

The rules of the IPL are designed in a way to attract local as well as overseas talents so that they could play alongside each other and obtain valuable experience. For instance, Franchises need to have a total of 16 players to ensure that injured ones are replaced promptly on the match eve. Like international teams, it is mandatory for the IPL clubs to hire a full time physiotherapist so that players can recover from injuries quickly and effectively.

Schedule and auction of IPL 2015:

The schedule of the IPL has already been drawn with the auction conducted in Bangalore. About 273 players were available for bidding and YUVRAJ singh pulled of the biggest coup by bagging a contract exceeding 2 million dollars. Dinesh kartick was not far behind as he managed to notch 1.6 million dollars from the royal challengers Bangalore.

The first and the last match are scheduled to be held in the Eden garden which is the largest stadium in the country and is situated in Kolkata. Knight Riders and Mumbai Indians will lock horn with each other in the inaugural match to set the pulse racing.


  1. dayanandsaini says

    The best team of rajasthan royals
    Jai jai rajasthan

    • Prabhu says

      When Pepsi ipl 2015 is going to start?

  2. Naina says

    RCB is the best team. They will win this ipl.

    • vijay sonar says

      its never not,
      thise ipl 100% win kkr

    • same says

      I think your dream is broken by sun risers????

  3. Akbar khan says

    afridi captain kings 11 punjab win tournament

    • sajad ahmad deva says

      inshaah allah……if pak team participated in this ipl , it will become more entertaining than ever before…..

    • same says

      Oy stop dreaming.

  4. syedshaikshavali says

    afridi captain RCB win the tournament

  5. prem says

    RR wall for victory

  6. FAIZAL ABDUL says


  7. sajad ahmad deva says

    if pak team participate in thiz ipl ,it will become more entertaining than ever before……

  8. jigger says

    sunrisers will win

  9. Selvan says

    Dhoni irukkum pothu yen kavalai its sure CSK is win this IPL 2015 chennai super kingsuku periya visil adinga

  10. Ajay Yadaw says

    I m back and watch to ipl-8.

  11. mukesh says

    hallla boll…..!

  12. PRATIK says


  13. t vlonappan says


  14. Rahul Gusain says

    Csk will win this ipl8…….

  15. prakash yadav says

    Sr Watson wallpaper

  16. nikhil says

    kings xi punjab is a good team for this year ipl 2015 trophy. Virender sehwag will hit century in this ipl

  17. Vicky Sadhu says

    So, here come the IPL 8. Its all started here the biggest gaming festival of india. So, guys which team you are supporting in IPL 2015? i have 3 choice, KKR, RCB and CSK :D Though, RCB is all time favourite.

    • Admin says

      Do you think Yuvraj will blast this year? Can he get his lost form back?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *